"Simple (Rare and unreleased pieces 1998-2010)"

130701 / FatCat, 2012, 18 tracks
CD / Download 

Simple’ is a selection of works for cinema, composed between 1998-2010. A diverse, yet fully cohesive collection of out-of-print, rare, and unreleased tracks, the album spans stark / minimal electronic drones, processed guitar explorations, variously-sized Chamber pieces, spare solo piano, and two 40-piece string orchestra recordings.
Almost all the material here is taken from Sylvain’s film scores, expanded with one written for a dance performance (‘Au Nombre des chose’s by Compagnie Mi-Octobre / Serge Ricci), and one (track 4), which is a remix (of Pulseprogramming) . Seven of the tracks are from a 2003 soundtrack Chauveau created for Thomas de Thier's feature film, ‘Des Plumes Dans La Tête’, originally released on the DSA label, now long out of print. Two short guitar pieces (tracks 11 and 14) were made for Sarah Bouyain's feature ‘Notre Etrangère’ in 2009. Two tracks (12, 13) are from Danish director HR Boe’s film, ‘Beast’ (2010), and four tracks (8, 10, 17, 18) are from the same director’s ‘Alting Bliver Godt Igen’ (2009), performed by a 40-piece string orchestra with a conductor. Sylvain describes these final two tracks on the album as his favourites, with “surely the best melodies I've ever composed”. Both were left out of the film’s final cut, remaining unheard until now. .

Composed by Sylvain Chauveau.

back to discography

Sylvain Chauveau - Simple

01. Noir
02. Des Plumes dans la tête
03. Au nombre des choses 
04. Within the orderly life
05. Le Brasier de tristesse
06. Anthracite
07. Pour les oiseaux 
08. The Plot
09. Blanche comme l'infinii
10. Everything will be fine
11. Notre étrangère
12. Beast 
13. Strangers forever 
14. Murmure
15. Situation finale
16. Blanc (live)
17. For C.   
18. Dernière étape avant le silence II