Brocoli, 2013, 6 tracks
LP / CD / Download 

Kogetsudai is Sylvain Chauveau's tenth solo record, the second of a trilogy initiated by Singular Forms (Sometimes Repeated) (2010), where the song structure is dismantled and reconstructed on the fringe of silence. Like the second verse of a haiku poem.
Whereas Singular Forms took inspiration from abstract painting, Kogetsudai is influenced by zen rock gardens found in Japan - also the location where the album was conceived (for the most part) - and from which the album borrows its title. Layers of minimal electronic sounds and filtered field recordings meet baritone vocals, with ghosts of piano.

Music and words by Sylvain Chauveau, except 2 and 5 (music by Stephan Garin & SC, words by SC).
Additional sounds by Pierre Gérard (1, 3, 4), Steven Hess (3), Stéphane Garin (6).

Stéphane Garin: phonographies
Sylvain Chauveau: computer, vocals, e-bows, piano, shortwave radios

back to discography

Sylvain Chauveau - Kogetsudai

01. Tofukuji
02. The Most Beautiful Music  
03. Dark Clouds in the Sand
04. Lenta la neve
05. Demeure
06. Kogetsudai